Classical Music is Dead*

The Morning After

Posted in Uncategorized by The Nouveau Classical Project on 12/18/2009

I would have to say last night was pretty good.  Not the most amazing I’ve ever had, but a solid good.  Marc-André Dalbavie was my favorite with Lei Liang coming in second.  Didn’t get to discuss Liang’s piece much at all last night.

The most interesting thing about Liang’s Verge was the manipulation of the strings to emulate Mongolian sounds.  I’m looking forward seeing how Asian influence in classical music pans out, as I don’t think it’s fully settled in yet (or maybe it’s my ear that hasn’t settled in)…seems to still be in its experimental stages.

In other news, the super cool-looking, instrumentalist-free installation, Stifter’s Dinge by Heiner Goebbels, takes place this weekend at the Park Avenue Armory as part of Lincoln Center’s New Visions thang.  I wonder if they’re aiming for a younger audience at all?  While it’s probably worth it, I don’t see, both at our age and in this economy, and during this season, many 18-34’s dropping $55 to see this (and it says nothing about student tix on the site)…whatever, ramen every day next week doesn’t sound too bad, right?

