Classical Music is Dead*

NCPerformers Music Recs

Posted in music, our shallow deep thoughts, random, we like by Yoobin Whang on 05/14/2011

Whether it’s music we listen to while waiting for the subway or reading at home, here’s what NCP musicians are currently listening to. Add these to your iPod now!

This is the first in our ‘LISTEN!’ series, music recommendations by our friends.

To be honest… I’m listening to ‘yacht rock’ style music at the moment.”
Whenever I Call You Friend by Kenny Loggins and Stevie Nick

Nabucco by Verdi

-Amanda Hick

“Can’t get enough of Fela Kuti’s V.I.P. live in Berlin. The longest afrobeat song I’ve heard so far at about 40 minutes straight. Ridiculous.”
V.I.P. (Vegabounds In Power) by Fela Kuti Jacob Ter Veldhuis

– Domenica Fossati

“I got to listen to him go WRYYYYYYYY for a couple hours but i’m getting faster at these papers :)”
In Front by Keith Jarrett

 – Patti Kilroy

“Most soulful thing you’ll ever hear.”
Giving Up by Donny Hathaway from his self-titled 1971 album

– Mariel Roberts

“His music is always badass and groovy.”
Ohko by Xenakis

L’Ascension by Messiaen

“Tearjerker!
3rd movement of Brahms’ 2nd Piano Concerto

“Simple and sunny.”
Just You and Me by Zee Avi

Mercy by Duffy

– Isabel Kim

“He expresses so much with minimal lyrics and I love how he’s somehow meshed the sounds of R&B I used to hear when I was a kid with modern, electronic techniques. And his voice has got so much soul. I was right in front of the stage at his LPR concert this past Thursday!”
James Blake (album) by James Blake

– Sugar Vendil

Leave a comment